Back to blog (welcome).

Remember that time I had a blog?  I know, it’s been a while…here is what happened:

My prolonged absence from the blogosphere was unplanned.  I was in the midst of a good run with the social media and the blog and the internet.  Then the real world interrupted.  I was busy with Praxis Theatre at the Fringe Festival and with Harbourfront Centre camps, and I promised myself I’d be back in September.  Of course, September rolled around and the mad hunt for a new job set in, along with a crazy condo search.  October followed with new floors, a lot of painting, and the purchase of one condo full of Ikea furniture (plus an armchair from the Home Depot).  November was spent unpacking and working at my many new jobs.  December fell victim to the holidays.  And with January, things began to settle ever so slightly…

Around the middle of January I found myself back in workshop with Praxis.  And I realized how much I had missed being creative.  I also managed to have the most disastrous week in recent memory, but that’s another story.  Things have been going reasonably well for the last six months or so, in all aspects of life, but largely in creative production and ideas.  I wanted to keep the momentum building.  And I am such a firm believer in the power of social media and blogs for building a community.  Blogging was a fantastic outlet for my creativity (and boredom) and it seemed silly that I gave it up.  Or that I let it fade into oblivion.  It wasn’t intentional, I just found the longer I’d been away, the more difficult it was to come back.

I started my original blog a little over a year ago.  Mainly because I was bored.  But also because I was frustrated.  I wasn’t really sure what I wanted it to be.  I certainly didn’t anticipate what it would become.  And I think I also needed an opportunity to sit down and consider where I wanted it to go and what I wanted to do with it.  It’s still what it started as, a theatre blog, but it’s a lot of other things, too.  Because I have more to talk about than theatre.  Some of it is important, some of it is mundane, but as the fantastic Greta Papageorgiu once told us, “I just can’t be boxed in right now!”

So who knows where this will lead.  If you’ve followed me here from my previous blogging home, thanks for sticking with me.  If you’re new, welcome.  And if you haven’t yet introduced yourself, please say hello.  There are big things in the works.

It’s good to be back.

Leave a Reply

