Perspectives: May 21-27, 2012

     Kaiser buns.

We had a little photo shoot for our FringeKids show this week…we haven’t had any rehearsals, but we have pictures!  So I figured that I needed to something fun and kind of kid friendly with my hair.  Really, it was done to distract people in the subway system from noticing that we were doing this little photo shoot without a permit (although you don’t technically need one, it seems like a bit of a grey area) and that we kind of looked like terrorists in these white fabric paper jumpsuit things that Katherine made us wear.  Really slimming, for the record, thanks KSands…

This hair thing is also part of how I find characters: hair and shoes.  I haven’t settled on the shoes, but the hair is kind of like a punk rock Princess Leia.  Of course, I may still change my mind once we start rehearsing, but this was fun to do in the bathroom at work after hours.  Fun fact: I like to gauge how people feel about me in the workplace by their reactions when I do strange things like this.  The truth is that most of them don’t react–just another day at the office.  I wonder what this says about me?  Or about my workplace.

Anyway, we have our first official read-through this coming weekend and I’m excited to get started.

Butterflies, bitches.    

     This is my gym.  I started going there in the fall and then fell off the wagon for a while, but I’ve been making an effort to get back into it recently.  Don’t let the butterfly or the pink or the girly name fool you, these bitches are fierce.  They teach a whole bunch of different classes from Yoga and Pilates to weightlifting to cardio and Zumba-like things.  And most of them are intense enough to make me feel like I’m going to vom.  Seriously.  There have been one or two where I’ve been so grateful and relieved when it was time to do crunches because at least it was an opportunity to lie down.  The big challenge is really that you can’t go occasionally (or you can, but you probably won’t feel so great about it).  While they do a good job with beginners, I feel like everything gets better when you’ve achieved a certain level of fitness and competency.  By which I mean, you have to go regularly.  So I’ve committed to getting there at least twice a week…

Mostly because I want to be able to add “pole dancing” to the special skills section of my resume.  It’s been a personal goal ever since Turner, Skidder, Griffin, and I made our epic trip to New York City’s finest Hustler club.  But that is a story for another day!

     Treat?

     Our local Global Pet Foods had a big customer appreciation event.  I figured that Cooper and I should check it out, especially since they were offering a pretty good discount and he won’t stop eating.  Luckily for him, there were a bunch of product reps there and he made out like a bandit.  I think I paid for four things in the photo and everything else came from the reps or from Global (including the cute and very squeaky little yellow duck toy).  Needless to say, someone was a very happy camper.  And all of this will be very useful on Thursday at Cooper’s class…which I will remember to take a picture of and talk about next time.

     Of course, Cooper also decided to remind us on Saturday night that all of his material possessions are no substitute for love and attention.  How, you ask?  By destroying one of Mike’s camera batteries.

Tub monster.    

     As the temperature starts to rise Cooper’s capacity for handling the great outdoors decreases dramatically.  Basically, at this point, all of our walks or trips to the dog park end in the bathtub.  Where he digs the water and pants frantically to cool himself down.  Then lies there and looks at you with the most pitiful eyes.  As if he didn’t do this to himself.  We walk in the door and he goes directly to the bathroom, climbs in the tub, and waits for you to come in to turn the water on for him.  He would gladly do it himself only he hasn’t yet figured out how–but you can be sure it is only a matter of time.

     I suppose it is difficult wearing a fur coat through the summer, though, and at least this way he doesn’t end up smelling like Lake Ontario.  Although it would be nice if he could figure out how to do this without getting water all over the bathroom.  But you win some, you lose some.

   And that’s how I saw the world this week.  How was your week?

Leave a Reply

